The Board

The Florida Board of Optometry plays a leading role in the State’s ever-changing health care environment. This is accomplished through communication with the public, legislature, optometry schools, the optometric community, and Florida Optometric Association (FOA).

The Florida Board of Optometry is composed of seven members appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Senate. Five members of the board must be licensed practitioners actively practicing in this state. The remaining two members must be citizens of the state who are not, and have never been, licensed practitioners. Additionally, the consumer members may not be connected with the practice of optometry or with any other vision-related profession or business. At least one member of the board must be 60 years of age or older.

Are you a current or new board member? Helpful resources and information pertinent to your position are available on the new Division of Medical Quality Assurance (MQA) board member website.

If you are interested in becoming a board member, the site contains material that provides insight into the duties and responsibilities of the role. To view the site, please visit

Members of the Board

Bryan A. Stam
Dr. Bryan Stam, O.D.
Ponte Vedra Beach
Read More →
David Rouse
Cooper City, FL
Term Ends:
Read More →
Katie Gilbert Spear
Pensacola, FL
Term Ends:
Read More →
Denise Burns-LeGros
Indialantic, FL
Term Ends:
Read More →
Robert Easton, Jr.
Oakland Park
Term Ends:
Read More →
John E. Griffin
Tallahassee FL
Term Ends:
Read More →
Kevin Rollin
Vero Beach
Read More →

After the expiration of their term, board members can continue to serve until they have been replaced, reappointed, or resign.

Organizational Structure of the Board

The Department of Health's Division of Medical Quality Assurance serves as the principle administrative support unit for the board. The board is supported by a full-time professional staff based in Tallahassee, and its regulatory functions are funded in full by fees paid by its licensees. Board members are appointed by the Governor and subject to confirmation by the Senate. Members of the board can serve two four-year terms. To learn more about becoming a member of the board, visit the Governor’s Appointment Office website or email their office at

Board Staff

Click to Open/Close
Legal Counsel

Deborah Loucks
Senior Assistant Attorney General/Board Counsel